The Sheiling ​​​


In 1999 Dylan Jones invited a band of Aberystwyth-based musicians to work with him on a project to practice, and then record, an album of folk-based music. This gathering of musicians was given the name 'The Sheiling'. With Ian Gulley (GwerinAberfolk) on guitar, Lucy Jones on fiddle, and Bethan Ifans and Steve Blaquire respectively on additional vocals and fretless bass – the album was completed in just over a year and titled 'A Touch of Rain' (Umbrella Head 2000).


Reviewed in Taplas – it was praised for its 'beautiful vocals' and particularly for the 'unsurpassable musicianship' to be found on the versions of  'The Flower of Magherallyo' (with Jerry Bloom guesting on violin) and 'Let no Man Steal your Thyme'. The folk-roots review site Rambles also recommended the album in order to hear 'two vocalists at the top of their game'.

The second Sheiling album 'Shape I'm In' (Umbrella Head 2001) was recorded with a different line-up. The father/daughter relationship was retained on vocal and violin, but with the replacement of Alan Coopey on guitar the album had a far more rootsy feel – and is a mix of originals and covers of songs by the likes of Tim Buckley, Nick Drake and Gram Parsons.

This was followed by Remnants (Umbrella Head 2003) – 'an album of demos and acoustic takes'.
The 17 track compilation 'Life in a box' appeared in 2006, comprising of a selection from the past with some new original material.

With Alan Coopey in the process of moving away from mid-Wales, 'Thank You' (2010) was a final gathering of original songs from the Coopey/Jones partnership.
Dylan Jones also worked with Geert De Wilde (with his younger daughter Laura Jones on support vocal) to produce the EP length 'Hands of the Sea' (Umbrella Head 2008).

In 2012 The Sheiling largely became the trio of Dylan Jones, Steve Blaquire and guitarist Peter Harper. The three concentrated on original material, usually working the songs up to a recorded version aired on Youtube or Vimeo  (with its own video)

- ably assisted by Sian Bennett, and more recently, Lisa Smalldon on backing vocal.

With the departure of Peter Harper, Steve Blaquire took on the duties of multi-instrumentalist, and the Blaquire/Jones songwriting partnership continued. Material from the 2012-2014 period can be found on the album 'Undiscerned'.

'Undiscerned' is available as a quality download from The Sheiling site on 'bandcamp'. Also available here is post-2014 material in the form

of the extended 'Fires EP'.

At the present time The Sheiling's line-up is reduced to the duo of Jones & Blaquire.




The Sheiling A touch of rain Edward Thomas Umbrella Head

Umbrella Head​